Anastasia Dip Brow Pomade Review

What’s the hottest thing of 2014? Well that’s easy brows! It’s now become even easier to fill in, arch, sculpt and define brows with all the new products launching on the market. The most buzzed about beauty products from brows is from non other than the brow queen herself, Anastasia. Anastasia Beverly hills is notorious for her brow products whether its soft pencils, powders, gels that fill in and hold brows in place all day and all night.

003

Her newest product to add to her golden collection is her dip brow. Similar name to MAC cosmetics product called dip down, which is the exact same product. Dip Down is a name of a gel pomade from MAC Cosmetics, it’s not the name of the actual product, if that makes sense? My beauty ladies know what I mean! Anastasia created dip brow which is a colored gel pomade that fills in brows and instantly makes them smudge proof, waterproof and fade proof. She currently has five shades in the dip brow, Blonde, Dark brown, Chocolate, Auburn and Ebony. For fall 2014, she will be launching Taupe, Soft brown and Medium brown. With this large range of shades, there will be a color to suit everyone’s brows.

017

While at IMATS LA this past January, I knew that these products were launching. I knew it was now or never that I could be one of the first to pick up this product and at a discounted price! After speaking with the lovely Kelly Eden, I decided to pick up two different shades in the dip brow, Blonde and Dark brown. My natural brow hair color is a medium brown therefore due to my hair color being dirty blonde, I fluctuate between both shades. Depending on the day I will outline with dark brown and fill in with blonde. Whereas sometimes I’ll do full brow in one whole shade. I definitely favor dark brown over blonde currently because it gives me more of a defined brow, which I’m currently enjoying.

019

At first I was a little skeptic on using this product because it takes a sturdy hand to apply. Due to being an avid coffee drinker, I make sure to apply my brows first in the morning as I begin drinking coffee so that my hands don’t mess me up! With the release of this pomades, there is also a brush that is suited for this type of product. The #19 brush is different from the typical angled liner brush because the bristles are cut at various lengths which give a consistent perfect line of application. While the brush is amazing, I typically use this product with my varied angled liner brushes from Crown, Royal and Langnickle, Sephora or even Sigma. I feel all angled brushes that I have used work well with this product.

022

As you can see in the image above, I couldn’t wait to dig into the Blonde dip brow. I primarily picked this shade because there are various times where I would like to achieve a softer brow since I typically do heavier eye makeup on the regular. This color and I have had our ups and downs. Sometimes when applying, I feel this product can sheer itself out too much so that I feel myself going over an area multiple times to get more defined color pay off.  However sometimes I do feel that it gives me such a natural effect and I love it! That could also be due to me having good brow days and bad brow days. So I am not bashing the product, I just wish this color and I would be consistent. I’m not giving up on it, I will still give blonde another shot at being in my must-have draw in my vanity.

026

Dark brown on the other hand, is a different story. I currently see myself using this every day. When I first starting using this shade, it was very easy to apply to much product and have to take extra time to blend, comb and soften the look. When using this product, I outline bottom and top, then start to fill in from outer tail inwards. Once I hit the pupil of the eye, I start lightly fanning this product inward from the beginning of my brow to get a softer ombre-like look. Even though this color is very dark, when blended and combed out, if appears fairly soft.

Packaging of these gel pomade’s is typical in a small jar yet has a lot of product inside. To ensure the longevity of the product, please keep product sealed and stored out of harsh sunlight. On the back of the product it details 6 month shelf life however I feel that if you take good care of your product, it should last longer. Application of this product glides on like a dream and is easily blend-able when working quickly with the product. Pricing is $18 which is not horrible for this kind of product.

Who or what kind of client would I recommend this product to? This product is suitable for all skin types, especially oily skin. I would also throughly recommend this product for clients who like a crisp bold brow and a soft natural brow as well. Also this product would work great for to clients who feel they fill in their brows in the morning and by 2:00pm their gone or smudged away. Now is it the best gel pomade base for brows, that’s a whole other discussion. Stop by your local Sephora and try out these bad boys when they’re not sold out since they’re so popular!

Leave a Reply

