Hourglass Ambeint Lighting palette review

022

Hourglass Cosmetics is a luxurious brand that is known for the amazing foundations, long-lasting lip stains and most of all, their ambient light powders. Hourglass currently has six different ambient lighting powders. The ambient lighting powders capture and diffuse light in a way that brightens that skin while concealing imperfections. These powders are unlike your typical powder, these powders use photo-luminescent technology that is particles that refract light and create a transparent coverage. There is a wide range of shades so that there is a shade for every one.

Now onto the main course, the palette. This palette was limited edition for 2013 Holiday. As soon as I heard about the release of this palette, I knew that I had to get my hands on it. Not only was it limited edition, but it was a great way for me to try out three different ambient powders at the same time. For the price point and the size of the powders, I thought it was a complete steal. It was also very reassuring that when this palette became  sold out everywhere, I knew that I had already added it to my collection.

024

Packaging wise, this palette is very small and sleek, it literally fits in the palm of your hand. This palette has a good weight to it, truly makes it understandable that it is from Hourglass. The packaging is this medium deep brown shade with a super glossy finish. This palette has a small opening mechanism and inside comes with a decently sized mirror. This palette comes with three shades, Dim Light and Radiant light which are in the collection and then Incandescent light which is the limited edition shade. Dim light is a neutral peach that has both warm and cool tones. Radiant light is a golden beige that gives a subtly warmth to the face. Incandescent light is an opalescent pearl that truly brightens the skin.

This palette is accompanied with Hourglass’s only facial primer, the mineral veil primer. The mineral veil is suited for all skin types which conceals redness, softens the fine lines in the face and is pore minimizing. This primer also has a spf of 15 which is nice! Hourglass is also a cruelty-free brand that is without parabens, talc, fragrance and gluten. This primer glides on with ease and a little amount goes very far. I thoroughly enjoy this primer because I have very red cheeks, dry skin and love to minimize my pore size. The color of this primer is white iridescent that gives a luminous finish to the skin.

025

Now that you have a good concept of the palette, let me tell you my thoughts. I love this palette, to put it shortly. I am using the incandescent light the most currently to set my under eye concealer. Every time I wear this product, I always get compliments or questions to what exact product is it.  My second favorite shade is Dim light. I love using this shade to set my face all over to give a glow to the skin. I am trying more and more ways to incorporate Radiant light into my every day wear since it’s just as gorgeous as the other shades. The more and more that I use this palette, the more and more I fall in love. I don’t remember when the last time I used translucent powder to set my face, I just use these powders instead. 

Now should you get them, is it worth the hype? Yes!! They have a range of shades that fits everyone. This is a luxury brand so you are truly paying for the high quality of the product. Dim and Radiant light which are in the palette are permanent, so those are readily available. Each ambient lighting powder is $45, which is a lot I know, however it is totally worth it. Unfortunately this palette was limited edition so it’s no longer available. They might have a similar holiday set for 2014, so keep an eye out. If you haven’t played with these powders, or do not own any, please find interest in these powders because they have a lot to offer!

One thought on “Hourglass Ambeint Lighting palette review

Leave a Reply

