Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette Review

It’s finally here! The third edition to the infamous Naked collection from Urban Decay is now in my hands! Being a complete Urban Decay junkie, I knew that I had to get my hands on this bad boy once it was confirmed that it was being released and was not a hoax. This brand new 12 pan palette consisting of all rose gold toned shades is an absolute must have for any other make up junkies out there and people who agree that rose gold shades are gorgeous. Also did you know that each shade in this palette is actually full size?!?!? Each shade is weighed at 0.05 oz which is equivalent to a full-sized eye shadow.This palette is definitely composed of more warm toned shades. Overall, this palette’s filled with eye shadows that are highly pigmented, soft and blend-able.

This palette is priced at $52 and comes with some goodies inside. This palette is accompanied with the new dual karma brush. The dual karma brush is a synthetic brush that has a flat shader on one side and a crease brush on the other. I really like the flat shader brush in this palette because you can use it also for concealer since its synthetic. Unlike other palettes that come with full size brushes, this brush I think is amazing. Unfortunately I feel that this brush doesn’t get as much credit as it should since some people literally throw it away when receiving the palette. I wouldn’t say that it’s unfortunate that we got this brush in this palette, but it’s nothing new to the Naked line since a similar  brush came in the Naked 2 palette.

The one additive that none of the other palettes got is generous samples of all four current eye shadow primers. Each eye shadows primer sample holds a week’s worth of primer. The eye shadow primers that come in this palette are Original, Sin, Eden and Anti-again. For some who may not know, Original is translucent, Sin is a shimmer champagne, Eden is a pure yellow matte and Anti-again is translucent with some healthy vitamins and proteins for the eye area. In my personal opinion, I think they should have paired the old primer, Greed, with this palette since that primer is gold shimmer. I think that primer would have paired excellently with this palette knowing that 9 of these shades have shimmer in them.

Now onto packaging, a point that matters to most people. Some people were thrilled with this packaging whereas others not so much. The people who were thrilled with this packaging appreciated the sturdiness of it, how easy it is to clean and also since it’s fairly sleek. Whereas, others complain that the packaging is very reminiscent of a pencil box that you had in grade school. Or why didn’t they differentiate their packaging from the Naked 2 palette? I’m personally glad at least they did not do the velvety packaging that the original Naked palette has because through wear and tear, the label started to break down and I couldn’t keep it clean. I do not mind the packaging of this product, I enjoy that I can easily wipe down this palette, especially when I spill products on to it.

015

Now, the main attraction, the twelve brand new eye shadows. This palette is visually very appealing to the eyes. It’s so pretty that I am almost afraid to start swatching and actually using the eye shadows. Regardless, I will always have an image of what it looked like before I dove into the palette. This palette is consisted of twelve brand new eye shadows. I don’t know about you guys, but I truly do appreciate when companies bring out brand new shades that cannot be found in other palettes, or anywhere else in the collection. To my current memory, I believe the closest rose gold shade in Urban Decay that launched before this palette is Toxic, a beautiful medium rose gold shade that can be found in their last released limited edition palette, the Vice 2. However in this palette, there is not one shade that is similar to that. I am please that Toxic was not repeated in this palette since the Vice 2 came out before Naked 3.

019

You also still get the full size mirror that can be found in the Naked 2 palette. I enjoy this mirror compared to the smaller mirror that can be found in the original Naked palette. With this palette, this mirror can actually be used to apply make up whereas I couldn’t really do that with the other Naked palette. Urban Decay ensures that your products will arrive in great condition, so they take the extra steps to protect the mirror and brush by having them wrapped in plastic. As long as my mirror is in one piece and my brush hasn’t rolled around in the shadows, I’m content.

All of these twelve shades have distinct differences from one another but they also have similarities as well. Of course, the most obvious similarity is that they are rose gold toned. However the differences are the finally milled shimmer colors in each shade. This palette is consisted of three mattes and nine shimmer/satin shades. This is the same ration that can be found in the Naked two palette, but not the original. The original Naked palette has only two matte shades (Naked and Buck), which are primarily used as transition colors.

The first set of four shades in the palette are Strange, Dust, Burnout and Limit. Strange is described as a pale neutral pink that has a matte/satin finish.  This shade would be ideal for my brow highlight or a pop of light on my inner tear duct. Dust is described as a pale metallic pink shimmer containing an iridescent micro-glitter. This shadow has the most fall out because of having the chunkiest glitter. Burnout is described as a light pinky peach satin. This color will look good all over the eye lid or just concentrated on inner or outer corner. Limit is described as a light dusty rose matte shade. This color is ideal for the crease, it’s subtle enough to be used as a transition color or built on to have more definition.

Buzz is described as a metallic rose shimmer containing a silver micro glitter. This shade is beautiful all over the lid. Trick is described as a light metallic pinky-copper shimmer that has tonal micro-sparkle. This is the dominant golden toned shade in the palette.  Nooner is described as a medium pinky-brown matte shade. This color is ideal in the crease, can be used to truly define the crease or just give off a soft transition shade depending upon how heavy you apply. Liar is described as a medium metallic shimmered mauve shade. I am very excited to try this shade all over the lid and in the outer corner of my eyelid.

 Factory is described as a pinky-brown satin shade. Can’t wait to smoke out my eye looks with this shade. Mugshot is described as a metallic taupe shimmer containing a slight pink shift. This color screams fall, I can’t even begin to think of where I would use this for my eye make up. Darkside is described as a deep taupe-mauve satin shade. This shade is a gorgeous outer v color or smokey shade. Last but not least is Blackheart, described as a smoky black matte with rose red micro sparkles. I think this is the shade that I was the most excited about using. I really do see the sparkles become apparent when applying this to my eye make up.  

So now that you’ve read and seen an in-depth review of the Naked 3 palette from Urban Decay… are you going to get it? If you already have it, what are your favorite shades in the palette? What is your take on the color scheme? Please let me know in a comment below or even in a response blog post! Thanks for reading!!

2 thoughts on “Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette Review

Leave a Reply

