RiRi Hearts MAC Cosmetics collection review

Riri-Hearts-MAC-Summer-Collection

I’ll have to admit, I finally gave in. I’ve never been the person to give in to the current hype over certain makeup products. However, this time is different. With being a fan of Rihanna from her early appearance, when I found out that she was coming out with a collection with MAC Cosmetics, I think I died a little bit.

MAC-RiRi-Hearts-MAC

In this collection of five, there are three retro matte lipsticks, one blush/bronzer duo and Luster drops. Soon after hearing the big news, I then heard of the first lipstick that she was going to pre-release from the first collection they made, which was none other than RiRi Woo. If you’re familiar with MAC Cosmetics, you must already know that they own a signature color called Ruby Woo, a classic matte red that everyone should have in their collection. Now there is RiRi Woo, a signature retro matte lipstick. RiRi Woo is described as a cool matte red, with a retro matte finish. It is a medium deep red with cool undertones. In comparison to Ruby Woo, there is a slight difference, the texture of the lipstick is somewhat stiffer and drier compared to the regular matte lipsticks. Another cool thing to note about this collection is that Rihanna’s signature is etched into all of her lipsticks. This lipstick gives full opaque coverage and its recommended to exfoliate, moisturize, blot your lips, line and then apply for overall satisfaction of this lipstick. This lipstick retails for $15.00 in the United States. Usually with MAC Collections, the signature of the ambassador is on the packaging of the product, not the product itself. So should you get it whether or not you own Ruby Woo? Initially it is up to you. If you like Rihanna and if you are a make up enthusiast such as myself, then yes, but other than that you will probably be better off without it.

Continuing along with the RiRi theme, the next lipstick that I picked up is RiRi Boy, my favorite item from this collection. RiRi Boy is described as a matte lavender lipstick. It’s a medium pink-purple retro matte finish lipstick. When I saw this lipstick online, I absolutely fell in love. I knew that I had to have this immediately. I’m so happy that it is accurately portrayed on the MAC website because it is exactly what I imagined it to be now that it’s in my hands. This lipstick gives full opaque coverage and its recommended to exfoliate, moisturize, blot your lips, line and then apply for overall satisfaction of this lipstick. This lipstick retails for $15.00 in the United States.

The last and final lipstick that is in the collection is Heaux. Heaux is a deep matte berry-red lipstick. This is a very deep color however it can be sheered out for lighter coverage. I like this lipstick a lot because it has both purple and red in it, but they do not over whelm one another.  If you’re going for a good deep berry lipstick, this would be worth while looking in to. This lipstick gives full opaque coverage and its recommended to exfoliate, moisturize, blot your lips, line and then apply for overall satisfaction of this lipstick. This lipstick retails for $15.00 in the United States.

016

Below are the swatches of all three lipsticks, with RiRi Boy being at the top, Heaux in the middle and RiRi Woo on the bottom.

029

The last product that I ended picking up from this collection is the bronzer and blush duo. Hibiscus Kiss is the name of RiRi’s chosen Satin finish bronzer and blush duo. With both products being of the same name, the bronzer ends up taking majority of this compact. While sometimes I thought why she didn’t split it half and half like most companies do, I can see now that the bronzer is the big issue in this duo. This is mostly a matte bronzer with some satin sheen to it, since it is a satin.  Hibiscus Kiss is described as a matte neutral bronze with medium yellow-orange undertones. This product retails for $26.00 and has build able coverage without looking to powdery. The other portion of this duo is Hibiscus blush, a soft coral pink with a sheen. I think this blush is a great fit for my personal usage, so when I saw that this was the paired blush, I was sold!!

004Thanks for checking out my review on Rihanna’s collection from MAC Cosmetics, hope you enjoyed!! Check out my First impressions video on this collection below!!

2 thoughts on “RiRi Hearts MAC Cosmetics collection review

    • Yeah, it is a good color for all year round and even in fall! Super excited to wear it. If you don’t have a lipstick similar to it, you may wanna splurge if you don’t mind the $15 charge for MAC lipsticks 🙂

Leave a Reply

