BH Cosmetics 28 color smokey eyes edition palette

This is a long waited review on the BH Cosmetics 28 Smokey Eyes edition palette. I purchased this amazing palette at the International Make-up Artist Tradeshow (IMATS) 2012 in Pasadena, California.  With already being a huge fan of BH Cosmetics, I literally saw this palette and immediately thought that I needed it in my collection. While at IMATS, BH Cosmetics was one of the first booths that I visited. I was so overwhelmed when coming to this booth because I had been needing and wanting various palettes from this company (120 and blush/contour palette). On display, BH Cosmetics presented there most popular palettes, such as the 120, neutral and blush palettes however the this palette was not. While shopping at this booth, I noticed a small sign that had pricing for all of their items and while scrolling down the list with my eyes, I noticed a line that detailed a 28 smokey palette. I immediately inquired with a representative and she pulled out the palette from storage and I felt like I had a heart attack. The colors, size of shadows, matte vs shimmer and the price for this palette was absolutely unbeatable.

At IMATS, this palette was only $9, yeah only $9, who wouldn’t in their right mind get it?? This price was way to good to pass up and I knew that I could never get this palette at this price again, unless I go to IMATS in 2013. One thing about me is that I love a classic smokey eye, it is definitely an eye look that I do on the regular, not matter what time of day lol. The color variety in this palette is amazing. There is somewhat of a gradient effect going on in this palette with having light colors in the top rows whereas the darker shades towards the bottom. You get a range of colors, pinks, purples, red, mauve, greens, blues and your classic smokey colors silver, black, grey and gold. The shadows are extremely pigmented.

Each shadow is the size of a quarter, which is a pretty decent size when comparing to their other palettes with smaller sized shadows. Another perk about this palette is that it is a mix of matte and shimmer shadows. I believe that we all have issues if palettes are either all matte or all shimmer, unless that is specifically what one is looking for. I believe it was a very good decision on BH Cosmetics part for making this palette a combination of matte and shimmer shadows.

Above are the champagnes, pinks, plums, purples and that vibrant red shadow. A closeup of these shadows allows you to see the matte shades along with the shimmer shades. As you can see there is a variety of both matte and shimmer shades.

These are the shades that are more “typical” smokey shades, being that of grays, blues, golds and charcoals/black. The top middle color in the picture above shows as a white but in reality it is a soft gray matte.

Overall, this palette has definitely become one of my personal favorites. The quality of the shadows, how many shadows, size, and color variety is amazing.  This has now become a palette that I reach to frequently. If BH Cosmetics keeps coming out with products like this, they can definitely expect to keep me as a customer.

5 thoughts on “BH Cosmetics 28 color smokey eyes edition palette

Leave a Reply

