Lorac Pro Palette

Yes, it’s finally here! With already being a huge fan of Lorac, I was super excited when this palette came out and I just knew that I had to get my hands on it. Celebrity makeup artist Carol Shaw designed this Pro palette, giving the world eight beautiful matte and eight beautiful shimmer eye shadows.  These 16 shadows, as you can see above, are divided into two different rows, the top being matte and the bottom being shimmer. When purchasing this palette, you gain a mini versions of their “Behind the scenes eye primer” to help these shadows truly stick. The total net weight of the palette is .32 Oz/8.8g and the primer is 0.19 Oz. /5.5g.  This set retailed for $42, with having a $110 value.

When this palette first came out, there was a lot of comparison to other neutral palettes alike such as the Naked palette by Urban Decay and the Nude Tude palette by The Balm cosmetics. Lorac, Urban Decay and the Balm palettes all differentiate from one another, all having pros and cons. Questions always arise like, how many shadows are there, what goodies comes with the palette (primer/brushes), matte vs shimmer, etc.  Since I have the Naked and the Nude Tude palettes, please let me know if you would like for me to do a cross-examination of those three palettes. One immediate comparison that I can make from the packaging of this palette and the Naked one palette is the letter on the cover of the palette. After using my Naked palette frequently, the gold lettering embellished on the front of the palette started chipping or flaking off. I did scratch the top of my Lorac palette and I noticed there was a slight chip in the O of pro. Now while this is extremely minimal, I just wanted to make that comparison.

Another comparison is the size of the mirror. This palette has the same kind of size mirror that you can find in the  first Urban Decay Naked palette. In order to use this on the go, you will need to hold the palette up to your face in order to better see when applying the shadows. I’m not sure if it’s just me or not, but I do believe that Lorac did something different with this palette compared to previous shadows from their line. All of these shadows names are directly named after the color they are. Usually, I am used to spunky and fun names when it comes to eye shadows, no matter the brand, but each eye shadow in this palette is simply named after its color, example, white is the color white. This isn’t necessarily a negative thing, it’s just interesting to see why Lorac chose to name these shadows from this palette.

Colors are as follows:

  • White (Matte)
  • Cream (Matte)
  • Taupe (Matte)
  • Light Pink (Matte)
  • Mauve (Matte)
  • Sable (Matte)
  • Espresso (Matte)
  • Black (Matte)
  • Nude (Shimmer)
  • Champagne (Shimmer)
  • Gold (Shimmer)
  • Light Bronze (Shimmer)
  • Pewter (Shimmer)
  • Garnet (Shimmer)
  • Deep Purple (Shimmer)
  • Slate (Shimmer)

Above is the swatches of all the eye shadows, starting with the matte first and then shimmer. When doing the swatches, I did prep my skin before hand with the Lorac Behind the scenes eye shadow primer.

PROS of the eye shadows:

  • Applies Smoothly and blends easily
  • Crease Resistant
  • Infused with botanicals
  • Highly Pigmented
  • Long Lasting
  • Silky Texture

Overall, I am very happy with this purchase. I did have different Lorac products in the past, such as the Bejeweled Holiday collection palette and some eye liners, so I knew what to expect from this palette. But, let me tell you, these shadows are great, I am even more impressed with Lorac now. I am not sure if they did any reformulation of their shadows since the Bejeweled palette, but they’re amazing!

Leave a Reply

